In Warwickshire; Ambrose Holbech bought Farnborough in 1684 and the Holbech family still lives in the house. The house was rebuilt in early 18th century and more space was made for the sculpture and art William Holbech brought back from his Grand Tour. He also wanted the house look more like the houses he had seen and loved in Italy. The interior rococo plasterwork is quite outstanding. The paintings by the old masters (Canaletto, Panini) have been replaced by copies while the originals were sold in 1929. The garden has two charming 18th century temples and a beautiful terrace walk. The house was passed to the National Trust in 1960.
Banff, Grampian, is one of the most imposing houses in Scotland; was built in 1735-39 for William Duff by William Adam with an unusual dispute about the bill; the owners of the house had in late 19th century, due to financial difficulties, to give up it and the house was changed first to an hotel and in 1913 a sanatorium; the Ministry of Works had it fully restored after WW2 and the Duff House was opened to the public as an outstation of the National Galleries of Scotland in April 1995; a remarkable collection of paintings and furniture from Scotland.
Macclesfield, Cheshire, home of the Bromley-Davenport family and their ancestors since Domesday times; the original Hall was designed by Smiths of Warwick between 1719-1732, altered by Blore in 1837 and finally Salvin rebuilt the centre after a disastrous fire in 1861; a fascinating collection of paintings, sculptures and furniture, extensive park and gardens; in a beautiful Georgian Chapel dating from 1719 services are still held.
Yorkshire, was built during the reign of Queen Elizabeth I and is the ancestral home of the Constable family, who have lived here since the house was first built. Many alterations were made to the house during the 18th century and the surrounding park was landscaped by ‘Capability’ Brown. Nearly 30 rooms are open to view, the interiors are filled with fine furniture, paintings and sculpture, a library of 5,000 books and an unusual ‘cabinet of curiosities’.
London, the official London residence of Britain’s sovereigns, was originally a town house owned by the Dukes of Buckingham. King George III bought Buckingham House in 1761 for his wife Queen Charlotte and Queen Victoria was the first sovereign to take up residence in July 1837. The Palace is furnished with fine works of art from the Royal Collection including paintings by Vermeer and Rembrandt. The State Rooms are open to the public each year in August and September, the Royal Mews is open throughout the year. The Queen’s Gallery is currently closed for redevelopment and will reopen on 22nd May 2002.
Selkirk, Borders, Scotland; the estate was granted to the Douglas family in 1322 and reverted to the Crown in 1450 as a favourite hunting ground; in 1550 the Scott family became the owners and after a marriage in 1720 between the Scotts and the Douglases the land was restored to the Douglas-Scott family. The present owner is John, 9th Duke of Buccleuch; the present house was built in 1812 with additions in 19th century; an excellent collection of paintings by Gainsborough, Reynolds, Canaletto, Guardi, Van Dyck